30 for 30 day 4: Prep

11 Nov
Jacket: LC Lauren Conrad @ Kohls
Sweater: J. Crew (Thrifted)
Skirt: Anthropologie
Tights: Hue
Shoes: Sophie Max (Marshalls)
Pins: Antique Shop in Abington, MA
Ring: Gift Shop in Fort Worth
Necklace: Gift
Sunglasses: Rayban Wayfarers
When I woke up yesterday morning, I decided to wear jeans, a baggy sweater and ballet flats.  So one may ask, how then, did I end up in a skirt, a fitted sweater and 4 inch heels?  The answer is, I don’t know. I walked in to my closed this morning put this skirt on “just to see how it feels”  and kept on adding from there. Next thing I knew, I was dressed and impressed. Seriously, I should just let my subconscious dress myself everyday because I love this outfit. I think it’s the perfect amount of whimsy and prep.
I got the vintage pins on a recent trip to Boston and have been dying to wear them but I could never find the right outfit to pair them with (until now!). Speaking of jewelry, it’s become a tradition of mine that every new place I go, I get to buy myself a new piece as a souvenir. They’re usually not very expensive pieces, but just enough to remember the trip by. Today’s jewels had me thinking of Boston, Fort Worth, TX and my very best friend. Good reminders for a good day!
Do any of you buy yourselves fashion-oriented souvenirs when you travel?
Currently Watching: Oprah “Donahue, Sally, Geraldo, Montel and Ricki”
9 Responses to “30 for 30 day 4: Prep”

  1. Desiree November 11, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    I do that too! It is so much better than having 1,000 Ft. Worth/Boston/NYC/London/Whatever tshirts. It always takes me back to vacation when I wear the jewelry I bough.

  2. Zuzu Pebbles November 11, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    I love the preppy jacket with the fun skirt. Definitely artsy-cool school girl.

    I like to buy fashion souvenirs too. Heading to Iceland for my honeymoon this summer and very much looking forward to bringing home a suitcase of “souvenirs”!

    • theputtogethergirl November 11, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

      Totally jealous of your honeymoon! Did you see that awesome sweater than Jess of What I Wore got?! I want! 🙂

  3. Melanie November 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    We’re both doing the prep thing today. You look great! That argyle skirt is awesome.

    Melanie@UnravelledThreads
    Follow @UnraveldTreads on Twitter!

  4. ashley November 11, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    You look super cool today. Love the shades, lady!

  5. Lisa November 11, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    1. You’re pretty.

    2. I miss you.

    3. Your very best friend has the most excellent taste in jewelry. 😉

  6. Tanvi November 12, 2010 at 3:45 am #

    Like your outfit and you take cute pictures! 🙂

  7. Maggie November 15, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Love this look- I am a pattern fan so the skirt is up my alley!

Leave a Reply

