30 for 30 Day 8: Texas Tuxedo

17 Nov

Shirt: Harvey Benard (Marshalls)

Sweater: J. Crew

Jeans: Gap

Shoes: Franco Sarto

Scarf: H & M

Sunglasses: Rayban Wayfarers

I’m going to come right out and say it. I’m wearing a Texas Tuxedo (or, I suppose Canadian Tuxedo). That’s right, double denim. And you know what? I love it. I’ve been read a lot of your blogs and I think one of the generalities I’ve seen is that old fashion “rules” were so made to be broken. I mean really, who cares that I’m wearing denim on denim? How is it wrong to wear something that feels so right?

With the holidays coming up (and any glimmer of joy), us graduate students are obviously burdened with fall committee meetings.  This naturally translates to a phenomenon entitled “I haven’t done anything worthwhile in 6 months, so obviously I need to prove my thesis in 3 days.” I, myself, have fallen prey to this phenomenon and it usually ends up with me teary-eyed, exhausted and my boss wondering about my mental health, but this time things are coming together nicely!  Are there any other graduate students out there going through thesis committee meetings?

Currently Watching: Oprah “Barbra Streisand” OMG, Barbra can you hear me?

6 Responses to “30 for 30 Day 8: Texas Tuxedo”

  1. Linley November 17, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    i like your Texas tuxedo. and that scarf. and cardigan! love this look and the colors!

    good luck with your thesis meetings and grad school doings… so glad that part of my life is no more. (:

  2. Tiffany November 17, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    I LOVE this outfit!! The red gives the two blues a nice pop!!

  3. Elisabeth November 17, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    I used to cringe at denim on denim but now I’m feeling it. Especially on you. Really cute.

  4. natalia November 18, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    The Canadian / Texas Tuxedo is just one of the thing Canadians and Texans share! Along with, like, exaggerated politeness. And gravy. Though yours goes on fried steak and ours goes on poutine? (I was in DFW for a few days this summer, btw, and it ruled despite the scorching heat.)

    I love how you jazzed the double denim up with the red and pattern. Well played.

    nat // juxta-posing.tumblr.com

    (Oh, and in case you like earrings, I’ve got a giveaway on. Free stuff yo!)

  5. Heather November 20, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Denim on Denim isn’t really my thing (lack of denim working against me), but I’ve been seeing it done well lately, and I’d place your look into that category! I wound up scheduling my committee meeting early (October), so it is fading into memory for now, but I definitely felt the panic of “oh no! my project is totally different from what I presented at my qualifying exam and I must gather real data RIGHT NOW, even though I’ve spent the whole summer working on protocol development.” Instead, I should have panicked about preparing a coherent presentation that guided them from the old project to the new directions. Also, and I should preface this with saying that I’m a TMC person you had found through the 30×30 so it sounds slightly less creepy, but I think I might have lived in your apartment complex. Or possibly Houston just has a lot of eerily similar complexes. Good luck with your meeting!

  6. Melanie December 2, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Thanks for your comment!
    I was going through your blog and I love this one! I was leery of the Texas Tuxedo (or as my brother calls it, the double denim disaster), but I gave in and have worn it a few times myself! I like what you have going on here. Very cute, as well as the rest of your outfits in the challenge.

Leave a Reply

