30 for 30 Day 10: Closet Raid

19 Nov

Shirt: Ralph Lauren
Skirt: Gap
Tights: Target
Shoes: Sophie Max (Marshalls)
Tie: Jon’s side of the closet
Tie “Clip”: Earring from Anthropolgie
Belt: Langford Market (Houston Boutique)
Sunglasses: Rayban Wayfarers

When I first moved to Texas, the one thing that really, really excited me was that every apartment I looked at had a walk-in closet. This seemed like the such luxury to me and it was promptly the first room I “decorated” in my new apartment. Two years later, when Jon moved in, I had to share my precious walk-in closet. At first, I was a little sad about losing my space, but then I realized that a whole new world had opened up. Boyfriend sweaters, belts and ties all became at my disposal- an Epic Win!

Now, it turns out wearing your boyfriends clothing will elicit a usually elicit response from said boyfriend that usually goes as follows:

J: Hey! That’s my tie/belt/sweatershirt!

E: I know! Isn’t it cute?!

J: But it’s my tie/belt/sweatershirt.

E: So?

And tonight I got the added bonus of:

J: Hey! That’s not part of your 30 items! Cheater!

E: Ties are accessories and don’t count. HA.

All that being said, I love menswear-inspired looks, and this one is no different. I like like that the skirt and the tie “clip” feminizes the look while the tie anchors the masculine. So, I guess what I learned in Kindergarten is true: Sharing is caring, or at the very least gets you more accessories! đŸ™‚

Currently Watching: Conan from like 5 days ago.

7 Responses to “30 for 30 Day 10: Closet Raid”

  1. fashionflirt November 19, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Love it! The picture of you walking out of the door? Looks like you’re making the world’s most GRAND entrance. VERY fabulous!

  2. sara November 19, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I love the tie! You really nailed this look, making it look cool and effortless. Love that!

  3. Natasha November 19, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Such a cute look…I wish I could steal clothes from my hubby, but he’s a gazillion times bigger than me (ok double my weight), close enough right? so I don’t think I could pull it off….and he doesn’t have any of the fabulous Hubby sweaters, or crisp qhite dress shirts (ok maybe a few)…just jeans and t-shirts…and a lot of work (carhart, high vis) clothes.

  4. Linley November 19, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    i love that top with the skirt! and the whole dark ensemble look! you pull off the tie well! i dont think i could do that…

  5. Stylepint November 19, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    Great outfit! I love adding menswear pieces to my outfits and it’s cool that you actually borrow your boyfriend’s items! =)

  6. Bre November 22, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    The picture of you pulling on the tie is VERY sassy. Does your husband know how hot you look in his clothes?

  7. Katelyn November 22, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    This is great! I love when girls can work a mens tie into their look!

    Katelyn

Leave a Reply

