30 for 30 Day 19: Houston, We Have A Problem

5 Dec
Shirt: Herve Benard (Via Marshalls)
Skirt: Anthropologie
Tights: Hue
Belt: Kenneth Cole (Via Goodwill)
Shoes: Sophie Max (Via Marshalls)
Up until yesterday, I was feeling super awesome about the 30 for 30 challenge. I had options, ideas, time– it was great. And then yesterday happened and all of a sudden I wanted to throw in the towel. The weather in Houston has been terribly erratic– it’s cool one day and hot the next. How’s a girl to dress herself when she picked wool, tweed and long sleeves when it’s 80 degrees out?!
After a bout of fitfull dressing that involved in 4 different outfits, two different pairs of shoes on and a boyfriend intervention, I sucked it up, put on my old standbys and called it a day. And you know what? I feel very cured of my mental block. It helps that today it’s back to being chilly (wahoo, 48 degrees!) but sometimes I think I need for all my clothes to end up in pile on the floor and for me to settle on something (anything) that just makes me feel good about my self, my body and my style.
Prior to the 3o for 30, I probably would have shopped away my mental block. I would have bought something pretty and fun and probably not at all necessary. Or I would have eaten a cupcake and wallowed. Well I’m proud to say I only shopped for others yesterday and ate no tasty treats. Could it be that this means I’m a big girl now?
How do you guys usually come over a fashion mental block?
Currently watching: Wolfman (OMG, this movie is terrible)
Don’t forget to follow me on twitter and bloglovin!
3 Responses to “30 for 30 Day 19: Houston, We Have A Problem”

  1. basiccravings December 6, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    This is a great skirt!

  2. Heather December 6, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Oh man, this weather in Houston has probably been the only thing that’s tripped me up with the 30×30- there have definitely been days where I’ve felt that I picked out stuff that won’t make a weather appropriate outfit, either for the heat or the cold. Except it’s always freezing in the lab anyways.

    • theputtogethergirl December 6, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

      This is so true. I actually had to buy gloves to wear while at my computer at work. It makes it harder because in any given day we have like 3 climates to dress for! Ugh!

Leave a Reply

