30 for 30 Day 20: Sometimes Boys Know Best

6 Dec

Sweater: Banana Republic

Sweater: J. Crew

Jeans: Gap

Shoes Franco Sarto

Scarf: Vintage

This outfit was pretty much picked by my boyfriend Jon. Saturday, in my mid-fashion meltdown, Jon intervened and suggested I throw on a pair of jeans, these two sweaters and a scarf since it was Christmas-time and I should be festive. I dismissed his outfit idea because I was hot and bothered, but came back to it yesterday, and well, I kind of love it. So kudos, honey, you’ve got fashion in your blood.

I say that jokingly, but in reality, Jon is a great resource for fashion advice/opinion (in a totally manly way). Because he has an art background, he’s studied color theory and figure drawing so he knows what colors work together and how to make them look good.

When we go shopping together, he’s able to predict when something won’t work for me. And  nine times out of ten he’s right. I’m begining to think he knows more about my body type than I do!

Does your significant other help you get dressed?

Currently watching: Ghost Whisperer Season 2 Disc 1

9 Responses to “30 for 30 Day 20: Sometimes Boys Know Best”

  1. kelsey December 6, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    nice work, boy! haha. last night i asked my hubs to choose three outfits for me. ironically, i only had three left 🙂

  2. Sarah December 6, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    ha ha I think I’m a bit of a butt face when it comes to my man picking out my clothes. I’ll put something on and he’ll be like, “hey I think that’d look better if…” and I always just say “Nah I like it”. He knows I have a really specific style and we’re both coping with that fact! Love how you wore the scarf with your outfit!
    Wearing It On My Sleeves

    • theputtogethergirl December 6, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

      Haha, well when I put it on on Saturday, I was totally like Nope, not going to work! And then low and behold it showed up on my body 24 hours later!

  3. Linley December 6, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    this looks fantastic!! it’s simple, but interesting all in one!! and i love the red for the holidays!!

  4. Jill @ TheLadyboard December 6, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Love the scarf- perfect accent!!

    Also, I freaking love Ghost Whisperer!

    • theputtogethergirl December 6, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

      Isn’t Jennifer Love Hewitt’s wardrobe amazing?! It’s one of my favorite parts!

  5. Linda W December 6, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Yes, my man helps me (whether he wants to or not!). He has a good eye for clean looks. You man does too, it seems. Did he even pick out the shoes? Because those are great with the rest of the look!

    The Auspicious Life

  6. dotty December 6, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    i really like how your scarf and cardigan go together!

  7. Mary December 7, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    scarf is “vintage” via Mary’s closet 🙂 I’m glad you’re wearing it, I never did!

Leave a Reply

