30 for 30 Day 22: I have graduated from the school of ANTM

8 Dec

 

Shirt: H & M – Sweater: H & M – Skirt: Anthropologie – Tights: Hue

Shoes: Sophie Max – Scarf: Missoni

So I have to thank Kim Kardashian for these pictures. I was watching an episode of Conan a few nights ago where the Kardashian sisters were promoting a book and Kim was spilling her secrets to having good red carpet photos. Now, I’m not one to take a Kardashian’s advice, but I’ve seen enough ANTM to know that she made a lot of sense. So yesterday I decided to put into practice what she had said and made a conscious effort to keep my shoulders back and worked my angles, and well, I think it kinda worked!

Now, my morning photo shoots are not epic productions or anything, but I do end up taking anywhere between 30-50 photos in the span of 15 minutes to get the 4 you see on the ole’ blog. So her advice combined with the new timer settings I discovered on my camera (timed continuous shots, yes!), I feel like my life just got 1000X easier! Now I just have to work on Smizing (smiling with your eyes, duh)–ha.

Have daily photo shoots gotten for you guys too?

Currently watching: Glee “A Very Glee Christmas” (YAY!)

 

7 Responses to “30 for 30 Day 22: I have graduated from the school of ANTM”

  1. joann, sidewalk chic December 8, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    I love the vibrant pattern in your skirt!

    I saw that episode of Conan — too hilarious. If there’s any advice I would take away from the Kardashians, it’s their photo posing skills. I don’t think I could do that mayonnaise crap.

    JoAnn
    Sidewalk Chic (formerly Sidewalk Chalk)

  2. Liz December 8, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Great skirt! I think I have learned how to pose a lot better, but I still hate having to take one photo and set my camera timer again, ugh, my old camera had x3 shots which were a lot easier, I guess i need a new new camera.

    • theputtogethergirl December 8, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

      Self timing is so annoying!

      My camera does 3 shots and I wish I had discovered this amazing fact sooner! I definitely want a new camera too– blogging definitely makes me feel camera envy!

  3. Kristen December 8, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    You look great and so do these photos. I need to YouTube that Kardashian video ASAP.

    I have days like yesterday where I think “Okay, I might be figuring this self-portrait thing” and days like today where I actually cropped my face out of a photo. It was that hard to get a decent photo. One of these days I’ll figure it out, right? Haha

    • theputtogethergirl December 8, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      It feels really hit or miss with me too! It’s like I wish there were a magic formula to get a good picture!

  4. Heather December 10, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Using a timer to take three shots usually makes my life a lot easier. Although it also depends on where I can find a place to stand my camera and how far away that is from something to focus on- sometimes the first shot is of me running over to the other side. Ohhh, smizing. My friends and I in college would actually joke around doing “ANTM” where someone shouted out a ridiculous directive and we had to try to get that across in the photos. I was pretty terrible at it, but somehow now I’m the one putting up photos of myself daily on the internet?

Leave a Reply

