30 for 30 Day 23: Opposites attract

9 Dec

T-Shirt: H & M – Cardigan: J. Crew – Skirt: Gap Belt: Langford Market – Tights: Hue – Shoes: Sophie Max -Scarf: H & M

My outfit today feels like a marriage of opposites. On one hand I feel very Emma Pilsbury-like with the cardigan and the bow, but on the other hand I feel a bit like Beetlejuice with the plethora of stripes. And although it is a marriage of opposites, I feel like it works! Who knew an obsessive compulsive could find love with the dead and dirty?!

Growing up Beetlejuice was seriously my favorite cartoon (ok, the movie too!). I loved how it was creepy, ghoulish weird. And now there’s Glee, which is pretty much my favorite show right now, with it’s primary colors, catchy songs and sunny outlook. Both these shows echo so much of the dichotomy of who I am– dark, pensive and bubbly, bright– it’s any wonder I don’t give people whiplash with the ebb and flow of my moods and inspirations! I guess today is one day though, where they both seem to come together quite nicely 🙂

On a side note, one major reason I wore this scarf today was that I’ve NEVER actually worn it before. It’s actually kind of sad because I love this scarf, but until now I’ve just never found an occasion to wear it. I guess that’s been the best part of the 30 for 30–my accessories are finally getting worn!

Do you find that your sense of style fluctuates based on your mood or feelings of nostalgia?

7 Responses to “30 for 30 Day 23: Opposites attract”

  1. Virginie's Cinema December 9, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    HOU, I like this outfit a lot!

    I think the Erica photography poses better than Kim’s (although you rocked that post too!)

  2. In Kinsey's Closet December 9, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    I love the two together! At first I thought it was a shirt with some fabric ties or something, I didn’t know it was a separate scarf! This looks really cute on you. Black/white/red is such a cute combo on you :0)

  3. Linley December 9, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    love this!! the colors, the stripes, and that big bow are all perfect together!

  4. Ashley December 9, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Oh Wowee. How cute you are! I love this color combo and I LOVE Beetlejuice. Although, I must be honest…my parents never let me watch it, and so when finally saw it an older age, I was all, “beetlejuice, where have you been all my life?”. I love that you love it, too. 🙂

    • theputtogethergirl December 10, 2010 at 11:17 am #

      Haha, my mother banned it too! I think I snuck my first viewing of the movie at a sleepover!

  5. Ana December 10, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    This is pure refinement – I adore it!

Leave a Reply

