Oh, the weather outside is frightful…

21 Dec

Shirt: Forever 21 Jacket: Newport News (thrifted) Skirt: J. Crew (thrifted)
Shoes: Cole Haan Belt: Kenneth Cole (thrifted)

Well, it snowed in Boston yesterday. I say this with an ounce of foreboding as I leave today for my Christmas holiday and well, I’m a little worried. Almost every year I’ve been traveling for Christmas, we’ve had a blizzard in Boston and it’s always a bit of a nail-biter as to when or how I’ll get home. My first year in Houston, I literally caught the last flight out from NY to Boston on a layover. My second year, I was terrified I’d get stuck in Dallas. Last year, the snow thankfully delayed itself a day. And tomorrow? Well, tomorrow there’s a 60% chance of snow and I’m starting to wonder: is it me?

I mean, I love snow (now that I see it like 3 times a year and don’t have to shovel). It’s a lovely Christmas greeting. But it would be more wonderful if it hit on Wednesday.

Then there’s an added factor to the Christmas blizzard and that is the drive from the airport to my small So. Shore town. Normally it only takes about 45 minutes, but the last two blizzards it’s taken 3 hours. I’m pretty sure my father secretly (ok, not so secretly) dreads these ¬†rides, because well, I’m a talker. And he’s got 3 uninterrupted hours of me babbling away in the car. Sounds fun doesn’t it?! Father-daughter bonding time is good for the soul. Huh Dad?

Outtake, this is the look you get when you stare at me while I’m taking my outfit pics:

4 Responses to “Oh, the weather outside is frightful…”

  1. fashionflirt December 21, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    This is such a wonderful winter outfit! I love the light skirt with the dark tights… And the ruffled plaid just plain old rocks my socks.

  2. No Guilt Fashion December 21, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    Love the plaid and leather together. It looks particularly edgy against the khaki skirt.
    No Guilt Fashion

  3. In Kinsey's Closet December 21, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Dang girl, you have the best poses! I love the checkered blouse, you look stunning! I love the snow too now that I never get much!

  4. Linda W December 23, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    I love the bold color contrasts in this! You are totally owning that leather jacket!

    The Auspicious Life

Leave a Reply

