Fall into the Gap

13 Jan

Sweater: Gap – Shirt: Ralph Lauren (thrifted) – Jeggings: Old Navy – Shoes: Gap

I remember when I got this sweater for Christmas, my freshman year in college, I felt like the coolest girl in the world. I was deep into my Gap phase and wanted this sweater badly so when it was under the Christmas tree (somewhat unexpectedly), I was thrilled. Years later, I’m still in love this sweater and I still love the Gap (although I have branched out somewhat).

It’s funny how I used to think the Gap was the penultimate of fashion. In my awkward years (and there were many), I always wished for my whole wardrobe to be brand new Gap items. As if this new magical wardrobe would make me cool or something. Obviously, I’m now a (somewhat) well-adjusted adult who realizes that cool is within, that style is about defining who you are not what a brand is and blah blah blah, but you know what? Sometimes, it’s really awesome to be the girl who has the coolest thing in the room. Even for just a few minutes. 🙂

Tell me about your awkward style years (come on, we’ve all had them!). If you’re generous, I’ll try to dig out some of my fashion don’t gems. 🙂

Currently Watching: Castle “Poof! You’re Dead!”

4 Responses to “Fall into the Gap”

  1. Vanessa January 13, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Cute sweater! I can see why you still love it!
    My awkward style years… well, I wouldn’t call it awkward, because I loved it feverishly back then,… and I still admire the charisma I must have had to pull it off…. but…. I’d have to say: Olive Green MC Hammer/Harem pants with a ginormous belt and buckle! Oh yeah!

    • theputtogethergirl January 16, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      Those. sound. amazing. I definitely think I was a lot bolder in high school and the like. There are some items I look back on now (um hello, macrame ‘sweater’ with only a bra) that I’m shocked that I ever had the confidence to pull off! To be 16 again!

  2. Heather January 14, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I think I remember that sweater! It’s still awesome. Sometimes I feel like most of my years were awkward style years, even though at the time I thought I was totally awesome. I think I’ve posted evidence of one of my worst college trends- long-ish skirt with untucked shirt (badly defined waistline) with legwarmers to keep me warm during Michigan winter (I look slightly homeless). If only I had had a good collection of tights and belts back then!

    • theputtogethergirl January 16, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Looking back, I had some pretty dreadful fashion statements too. There was a time where I took advantage of the Urban Outfitters bargain basement a little too much. My favorite worst item I had was a camouflage skirt that were once pants. It took the military trend to a whole new, terrible level. 🙂

Leave a Reply

